Skip to content

Oatmeal Almond Cookies

July 20, 2012

Target is a place of realization. Not only a place to buy cheap-hurt-your-feet-but-oh-so-cute sandals, but also a place people can discover what matters most to them in life, as I did today. Keep reading, my friends! (There is cookies coming up!)

After trying on a horrible pair of palazzo pants, I noticed a sense of maturity rising through me. Not because I had the womanly guts to say “no” to buying them, but the sense of relief that I didn’t have to splurge on them. As a youth, when I picked off the shiny green leaves of my most cherished dollar tree, I automatically knew I would buy clothes, make-up, accessories, etc. Have I lost you yet? The fact that I am trying to make is that today I realized that I am done thinking like that. I would rather spend all my money on dishes, cups, place mats, ingredients, and cooking supplies rather than on clothes. Some people may disagree, but to me, this new found sense of spending is exciting! (It also means better pictures – yippee!)

Long story short, my realization made one thing clear – baking is my life. It is what I yearn to do at all times. I find myself researching recipes, watching the Cooking Channel 24/7, and having major stacks of Bon Appetit and Gourmet collecting dust on my bookshelf. It sounds like a crazy obsession, but I can guarantee you, I wouldn’t change it for anything.

I kinda, sorta, totally, think that we should talk about cookies now.

Chocolate Chip Cookies are completely totes amazeballs, I know. I wouldn’t ever deny one… unless, there was an Oatmeal Cookie sitting next to it. Oatmeal Cookies are royalty. Something about them just say the word “classy” to me. But when raisins are added… all classiness comes to a halt. NO raisins. Raisins are not classy. Chocolate chips and dried tart cherries are though. Mixed with salted roasted almonds. Ah-maze-balls.

Try them. Make them. You will never regret it. Not one.single.day.in.your.life. I swear.

Oatmeal Almond Cookies

adapted from http://joythebaker.com/2011/12/oatmeal-walnut-cocoa-nib-cookies/

2 sticks unsalted butter, softened

1 cup sugar

1 cup brown sugar

2 eggs

2 tsp vanilla

1 2/3 cups all-purpose flour

1/3 cup bread flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

2 cups oatmeal (I used single-serving cinnamon swirl oatmeal packages)

1/3 cup chocolate chips, chopped

1/3 cup dried tart cherries, chopped

1 cup roasted and salted almonds, chopped

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Cream together the butter and sugars until smooth. Add both eggs until combined. Pour in vanilla and mix until combined. Add flours, baking soda, and baking powder and mix until combined. Stir in oatmeal, chocolate chips. cherries, and almonds. Scoop onto baking sheets and bake for 11-13 minutes.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

