Skip to content

Chocolate Caramel Cupcakes

July 30, 2012

Can I be honest with you?

Can I tell you that it is 5 pm and I am still in my pajamas?

Can I tell you that I have only ate brown stuff today? That toast, a burger, and cupcakes isn’t the best diet.

Can I tell you that I was planning on making olive oil cake today, but chocolate sounded way more exciting?

Can I tell you that I locked my dog in the house so I could be artistic, and take photos outside?

Can I tell you that these cupcakes taste amazing and that nothing else matters because of it???

Dark chocolate vegan cupcakes with a rich buttercream that is mixed with homemade caramel. They are fluffy, sweet, rich, and decadent. I’ve heard that the frosting resembles A&W root beer…

It doesn’t hurt that these babies are photogenic…

They have great genes.

Dark Chocolate Cupcakes

adapted from Sweetheart Rose Cupcakes

makes 24 cupcakes

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1 3/4 cups sugar

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 cup cocoa powder

2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 tbsp vanilla

2/3 cup coconut oil

2 tsp white vinegar

2 cups cold water

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line two cupcake pans with liners and grease with a cooking oil spray (I use spray coconut oil).

Stir dry ingredients together to combine in the bowl of a stand mixer.

Whisk wet ingredients together. On low, slowly add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients. Once combined – stop mixing. DO NOT over mix!

Distribute batter into cupcake liners about 2/3 of the way full. Bake 20-24 minutes until a toothpick/skewer comes out clean.

Homemade Caramel Sauce

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 tbsp milk (I used regular low-fat 2%)

1 1/2 tsp corn syrup

1/2 tbsp unsalted butter

Combine all ingredients in a small saucepan over high heat. Whisking the mixture constantly, let it come to a low boil.

Once bubbles have formed, let the mixer simmer on medium-low for 3 minutes.

Pour into heat-proof container and let cool at room temperature.

Caramel Frosting

1 1/2 sticks (12 tbsp) unsalted butter, room temperature

2 1/2 cups powdered sugar

1 tsp pure vanilla extract

1 batch homemade caramel (recipe above)

Mix the butter on medium for 3 minutes until pale.

Add powdered sugar and mix until a thick frosting comes together.

Add in vanilla and caramel* and mix until the mixture reaches a spreadable consistency.

Frost onto cooled cupcakes.

*Caramel should be slightly cooled and still in liquid form. If it has hardened into a candy-like consistency. Heat until it runs off the back of a spoon.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2012 4:15 pm

    Gorgeous spread! So festive and delicious.

Trackbacks

  1. Spicy Caramel Chocolate Chip Cookies | miss anna cakes

Leave a Reply

