Skip to content

Homemade Trail Mix

December 18, 2012

IMG_4126

In the mornings I rush. The reason I rush is because I don’t rush when it comes to getting out of bed. It’s a bad combination. As a result, my breakfasts and lunches aren’t always as sophisticated as I would like them to be, simply because they don’t have a long time to be planned and made. This morning as I was packing my lunch I threw into a bag a handful of nuts, cheerios, dried cranberries, and some chocolate chips. When it can time to eat during the day, I was pleasantly surprised at how delicious my “trail mix” tasted!

photo 1

As soon as I got home this trail mix was the first thing on my mind. I opened the cupboard and was ecstatic that this recipe didn’t involve eggs, powdered sugar, and vanilla extract – the ingredients that I’m all out of. Instead, it uses pantry essntials. Mixed nuts, cereal, dried fruits, and a little bit of something sweet.

IMG_4101

For this batch I used almonds, cashews, walnuts, dried cranberries, cheerios (my favorite cereal), and the mini dark chocolate chunks that I am obsessed with.

IMG_4111

My favorite part about this recipe is that it only involves one step – mixing your chosen ingredients together. It can be done in 5 minutes.

IMG_4116

The longer the mix-ins sit together, the longer the flavors with combine.

IMG_4123

Salty and sweet this trail mix would be delicious with anything. Yogurt, ice cream, by the handful, etc. Be creative! This recipe works for everyone because you can choose any add-ins you want. Pistachios, pecans, apricots, blueberries, chocolate candies. The possibilities are endless!

photo 2

Homemade Trail Mix

yields 2 large mason jars

2 cups mixed nuts
2 cups cereal
1 cup dried fruit
1/2 cup chocolate chips or something of the sort

Mix all ingredients together. Store in an airtight container. Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

