Skip to content

Summer Bean Salad

June 7, 2013

ImageWhen I saw this salad, I died and went to food heaven. As I have recently turned to a vegetarian diet, I am all over veggie packed meals with legumes and grains added to them. Give me some chickpeas and farro and I’m good to go!

But this salad doesn’t involve chickpeas and farro. Instead, this beauty contains cannellini beans and croutons. In case you are unfamiliar with croutons, they are pieces of bread which have been chopped into squares and have been baked or toasted. They usually involve some kind of fat (oil or butter) and herbs. They are kings in food heaven!

Besides the wonderful croutons, my favorite part of this salad is the dressing. It is a simple mixture of olive oil, balsamic vinegar, maple syrup, and salt & pepper. The maple syrup kicks into the acidity of the vinegar and creates the perfect sweetness. The combination of these ingredients make for a perfect vinaigrette.

This salad is the perfect transition from spring to summertime. Full of flavor and colors, it is a beauty! I have found my new favorite salad!

Recipe lightly adapted from Sweet Sugar Bean
*I omitted the cheese and switched out pea shoots for greens

Image

Image

Image

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

